To Stay Out Till Sundown

sunset1012177

 

The whole world is in motion to the center.
I only went out for a walk
and finally concluded to stay out till sundown,
for going out, I found,
was really going in.
~John Muir

 

sunset1012174

 

Alone in the night
On a dark hill
With pines around me
Spicy and still,

And I know that I
Am honored to be
Witness
Of so much majesty.
~Sara Teasdale from “Stars”

 

sunset1012176

 

The melancholy unconsoling fold
sunset1012173
When I should be
preparing dinner,
cleaning the barn,
filling water buckets,
returning phone calls,
folding laundry
I’m out on a hill with my camera
watching for what can never come again
exactly like this
It doesn’t take long
maybe a minute or two
to become a witness,
carried by breath,
ferried into darkness
so gently
catsunset
sunsettexture

Support for the Barnstorming Blog

Your financial support keeps this blog a daily offering and ad-free. A one-time contribution helps greatly.

$10.00

3 thoughts on “To Stay Out Till Sundown

  1. Your comment, Emily, reminds me of how He is always present to us – amid our everyday tasks – quietly,, unseen, faithfully, assuring us that He is there – within our mundane but necessary tasks but, more importantly, helping us to face and to cope with the traumas that come unexpectedly into our lives.

    Like

  2. Oh yes, sunset is wondrous. …and sunrise is fantastic. I have been getting up at 6:00 a.m. and loving the morning sky…makes the day last a little longer (hehe). Thanks for sharing your photos Emily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

